top of page

Who are we? 

Our History


As the crisis of the attachment gap, the shortage of providers and the looming future of many provider retirements grows, a vision of a Community Health Centres (CHC) to service the Lower Columbia region gradually formed.


Three years ago, the decision was made to move ahead with an assessment of our needs and resources relevant to proposing a Community Health Centre. 


That assessment was completed about a year ago and indicated a Community Health Centre would be a good solution.


At that point, the Working Group was formed to define our vision and construct a proposal. The Group's mandate is not to debate or consider a Community Health Centre, but rather to implement one. The Working Group consists of a dozen members, plus additional people who serve on one of the committees. We include three area Family Practice physicians, a nurse practitioner, an Aboriginal Services Coordinator, three retired and two active healthcare administrators, plus several community representatives.  


Various local endorsements, in the form of Letters of Support, were received by January of this year. Periodic reports have been made to the Primary Care Network Steering Committee, as well as the KB Collaborative Service Committee. 


Two Vision Sessions were held, in January and March 2022, with a wide representation of community leaders and healthcare providers and officials, to define our vision. 


With the vision agreed upon, the Working Group shifted from "vision" mode to "proposal" mode.

Our Working Group and Committee Members

Win Mott - Chair

Linda Sawchenko

Frank Marino

Lori Verigin, NP

Dr. Janet Fisher

Dr. Tobias Gelber

Dr. Mike Scully

Dr. Libby McCoid

Jane Power

Carolyn Amantea

Katie Rumbolt

Ron Parisotto 

Param Saini

Project Manager:

Jen Schmidt

Project Coordinator:

Cecilia Tjader 

With humility and in the spirit of reconciliation, we acknowledge that our work in the Kootenay Boundary region takes place on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territories of the Sinixt, Syilx, Ktunaxa, and Secwépemc First Nations, and is home to the Métis and many diverse Aboriginal communities

bottom of page